Shenehon Center for Real Estate

Research. Education. Outreach.

The Boyd Stofer & Ken Stensby Real Estate Student Competition

This annual competition focuses on recognizing the value of competition in fostering creativity and the entrepreneurial spirit by creating original, practical, real world concepts that would apply to any discipline of real estate or a related industry. The Real Estate Competition, named in honor of Ken Stensby and Boyd Stofer, awards scholarships to students for their winning real estate related business concepts.

By submitting a description of a business concept, applicants will compete for the opportunity to present to a panel of industry professionals for scholarship awards of from $1,000 to $10,000. The competition will challenge undergraduate and graduate students to develop a business concept that has potential to become a viable, high-growth business or make a meaningful contribution to existing real estate companies.

Student submissions might include a product or procedure that would improve efficiency, a real estate operating company, a new real estate marketing concept, a residential or commercial development idea, a real estate financing concept, a way to improve the analysis of real estate investments, or an entity that supports real estate operations.

Competition Deadlines
  • September 5, 2019 5 p.m. Competition opens
  • October 21, 2019 11:59  Submission deadline. Submit  Business Concept to
  • October 16, 5 p.m.  Semifinalists Announced
  • October 25   Semifinalist Presentations/Judging
  • November 1 Final Judging
Scholarship Awards

Awards and scholarships will be announced following the finals and at the Minnesota Real Estate Hall of Fame induction on Nov. 5, 2015 at Golden Valley Golf and Country Club.

First Place              $10,000
Second Place         $5,000
Third Place             $2,500
Best Presenter       $1,000

Total Prizes   $18,500


2018 Winners

1st place – Aryero
Matt Michalski                    $10,000

2nd place – Bird Homes                                                                                   Charlie Bird                         $5,000                                                                                 Holly Spaeth

3rd place – Livli
Ethan Finger                       $2,500
Isaac Kuehn

Best Presenter – Aryeo
Matt Michalski                    $1,000


Contest Details and Rules

The Stofer-Stensby Real Estate Student Competition is named in honor of Ken Stensby and Boyd Stofer each a former local chapter president and national president of NAIOP (National Association of Industrial and Office Parks). They were inducted into the Minnesota Real Estate Hall of Fame at the University of St. Thomas in 2013 and 2012, respectively. Their entrepreneurial spirit, real estate entrepreneurship, and commitment to education in the field of real estate inspire current professionals and future generations of real estate professionals.